

# Minutes of the Meeting of the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE March 10, 2020

87 Blackinton St, North Adams, MA

#### **Committee members in attendance:**

Brenda Burdick Robert Reilly Kathleen Therrien

### **Others present:**

James F. Birge, President Denise Marshall, Chair Lisa Lescarbeau, Clerk Adrienne Wootters, Interim VP of Academic Affairs

Trustee Burdick called the meeting to order at 8:31 a.m.

### **Academic Major Name Change**

Dr. Wootters reviewed the DHE's approval to change B.A. in Political Science and Public Policy to B. A. in Political Science. This change is in name only for purpose of clarity and does not change the major's curriculum.

### **Faculty Search Updates**

Dr. Wootters reviewed the seven faculty searches currently is various stages of completion. Offers have been accepted for these positions: Anthropology, Sociology & Social Work, Education (2 positions), English, English & Communications, and Physics. A position for Marketing in Business Administration is in progress and the Multimedia Journalism position in English & Communications will be reposted in the fall.

### **Faculty Reappointments and Promotions**

The following faculty have been recommended to the President for second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth year reappointment:

### Reappointment to a 2<sup>nd</sup> year

Margaret Clark, Department of Education Kate Flower, Library Katelyn Hatfield, Department of Biology Michaela Petrovich, Department of Fine and Performing Arts Clio Sterns, Department of Education Xin Shen, Department of Computer Science

## Reappointment to a 3<sup>rd</sup> year

Travis Beaver, Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work Caren Beilin, Department of English and Communications Guangzhi Huang, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies Mohamad Junaid, Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work Amanda Kleintop, Department of History, Political Science, and Public Policy Sara Steele, Department of Psychology Guodong Wang, Department of Computer Science

# Reappointment to a 4<sup>th</sup> year

Tara Barboza, Department of Business Administration and Economics George Hamaoui, Department of Biology Victoria Papa, Department of English and Communications Nicole Porther, Department of Biology

# Reappointment to a 5<sup>th</sup> year

Eric Doucette, Department of Biology Anna Jaysane-Darr, Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work Erin Kiley, Department of Mathematics Samantha Pettey, Department of History, Political Science, and Public Policy

# Reappointment to a 6<sup>th</sup> year

Shawn McIntosh, English and Communications Department

Academic Affairs Committee Minutes of March 10, 2020 Page 3

Dr. Wootters reviewed the reappointments above and responded to questions from the Trustees.

### **Faculty Tenure and Promotion**

The committee then reviewed the list of faculty for tenure and promotions. The following faculty have been recommended to the President for promotion:

#### Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor

Dr. David Cupery, Department of Political Science

Dr. Hannah Noel, Department of English and Communications

Dr. Ruby Vega, Department of Psychology

Dr. Kebra Ward, Department of Physics

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, it was unanimously:

**VOTED**: to recommend reappointment with tenure for David Cupery, Hannah Noel, Ruby Vega, and Kebra Ward.

Dr. Wootters explained the difference between tenure and promotion, and promotion to associate professor. Tenure requires contiguous years of teaching in higher education, whereas the contract allows promotion without tenure.

### Promotion to Associate Professor

Dr. Jerome Socolof, Department of Arts Management Prof. Jeremy Winchester, Department of Theatre

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, it was unanimously:

**VOTED:** to recommend reappointment with promotion to associate professor for Jerome Socolof and Jeremy Winchester

### **Faculty Emeritus**

President Birge provided a review of the purpose and benefits of faculty emeritus status. Emeritus faculty gather twice annually and discuss the scholarly work they are doing. These gatherings often include students and faculty as possible.

Academic Affairs Committee Minutes of March 10, 2020 Page 4

Dr. Wootters reviewed the following faculty members recommended for emeritus status:

Dr. Mary Ellen Cohane, Department of English/Communications

Dr. Dale Fink, Department of Education

Dr. Ann Scott, Department of Education

Prof. Richard Yanow, Department of Business Administration

Upon motion duly made and seconded, it was:

**VOTED**: to recommend approval of appointment to emeritus status for Mary Ellen Cohane, Dale Fink, Ann Scott, and Richard Yanow.

#### **Other Business**

President Birge talked about pandemic planning for the COVID-19 strain of the coronavirus. We continue to assess emerging information and what is happening in other higher education institutions. The Pandemic Critical Incident Response Team (P-CIRT) is meeting daily to discuss the latest information on COVID-19. At this time, only international travel courses have been cancelled. We are following the Governor's lead on cancellations, and he has not indicated domestic travel should be cancelled. We will continue to monitor travel for decisions that may affect domestic travel.

President Birge will not be travelling to Florida for spring break and will remain on-campus to manage emerging situations. Strategies for short- and long-term operations include remote learning and preparing faculty and staff for this possibility.

The Council of Presidents is discussing semester requirements with NECHE to determine flexibility in this unique situation.

#### Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Committee the meeting was adjourned at 9:27 a.m.